The American Legion Warren Post 11 members, in need of more permanent headquarters due to the increasing members of WWII veterans, purchased Armory Hall in 1952 from the Warren Artillery Company for $10.00. At that time the Artillery Company had been inactive for about thirty years.
Beginning in 1954 significant renovations were made to the armory which had deteriorated badly. A new ceiling was rebuilt. New chandeliers were installed as well as a new gas-fired heating system. To provide more space for the new restrooms and kitchen the two Revolutionary War cannon and their ammunition carriers (limbers) given to the Warren Artillery Company in 1842 were given to the Town of Warren. Both cannon were mounted on cement pads to the left and right of the Warren Town Hall’s front entrance. The limbers were placed in storage in the Highway Department’s Wood Street buildings. An ADA handicap ramp and a new entrance door were added to the west side of Armory Hall.
Unfortunately Armory Hall was closed at the end of 2007 primarily due to the inactivity and declining Post 11 membership
In March, 2008 a small group of Post 11 members met to determine the facility of restoring and reopening Armory Hall which had served the Town of Warren for over 100 years. Our many thanks are extended to these members for having the foresight to save one of Warren’s and the State of Rhode Island’s historic and unique treasures.